UW College of Education Home College of Education eNews

2013 AERA Honors

As the 2013 American Educational Research Conference approaches, several College of Education faculty and students have received high honors, including:

  • Dr. Kenneth Zeichner, Boeing Professor of Teacher Education and Director of Teacher Education, was selected to become a Fellow of the American Educational Research Association (AERA).

  • Dr. Joy Williamson-Lott was elected Vice President for AERA's Division F (History and Historiography). Her term will be 2014-2017.

  • Dr. Margery Ginsberg is the 2013 recipient of the AERA Relating Research to Practice Award in the category of Professional Service.

  • Dr. Ann Ishimaru was awarded the 2013 AERA Leadership for Social Justice Dissertation Award from the Leadership for Social Justice Special Interest Group (SIG) and the AERA Family, School, Community Partnerships Special Interest Group (SIG) Outstanding Dissertation Award for 2013.

  • Dr. Elham Kazemi's chapter, "Noticing leaders’ interactions with videocases of teachers engaged in mathematics tasks in professional development," appeared in the book awarded the 2013 AERA Division K, Exemplary Research in Teaching and Teacher Education Award.

  • Lacey Hartigan, Ph.D. student in Organizational and Policy Studies, won a prestigious AERA Dissertation Grant.

  • Daisy D. Alfaro, Ph.D. student in Organizational and Policy Studies, was named Division J (Postsecondary Education) Senior Representative of the AERA Graduate Student Council.

  • Ben Starsky, Ph.D. student in Social and Cultural Foundations, was named Division F (History & Historiography) Senior Representative of the AERA Graduate Student Council.

College of Education, University of Washington
Box 353600 Seattle, WA 98195-3600
To ensure our newsletter always reaches your inbox, please add ecoe@u.washington.edu to your
address book.