Office of Student Services

Email: edinfo@uw.edu
Phone: 206-543-7834
Location: 206 Miller

The Office of Student Services is here to help you throughout your time in the College of Education. From navigating the application process to academic advising to connecting you with other UW services, we are ready to support your success.

Our office is located in 206 Miller Hall and is usually open Monday through Friday, 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM, unless stated otherwise. We are currently operating on our summer hours so please see below for our in-person availability. Online appointments and meetings can occur outside these hours -- check with specific advisers or staff to find out their availability.

Summer Hours: (June 14th - September 11th)

  • Open: Monday-Thursday, 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
  • Closed: Fridays

During this time, we will still be reachable via phone at (206) 543-7834 or email at edinfo@uw.edu during our regular hours. We will return back to our regular hours on September 12th.

Our office is also closed according to the UW holiday calendar as well. Please see the following dates of our office closures for the rest of the 2024 year.

Juneteenth6/19/24Wednesday
Independence Day7/4/24Thursday
Labor Day9/2/24Monday
Veterans Day11/11/24Monday
Thanksgiving Day11/28/24Thursday
Native American Heritage Day11/29/24Friday
Christmas Day12/25/24Wednesday

How can we help?

Our staff provides support with a range of issues and questions, including (but not limited to) those listed below.  Please contact us for assistance!

  • Advising and student support 
  • Application/admission questions
  • Degree completion steps, deadlines and requirements
  • Forms for UW, College of Education and Graduate School processes and procedures
  • Graduation final steps, deadlines and logistics
  • Maintaining student records
  • Petition information and processes
  • Professional and career development
  • Providing a safe space for students to share concerns
  • Referrals to other College and UW resources/offices
  • Resolving unique or difficult situations
Undergraduate services
  • Formal academic advising for undergraduate majors
  • Transferring coursework from other colleges and universities
  • UW general education requirements
Graduate services
  • Faculty advisors and committees
  • Funding questions (e.g. College scholarships and RA/TA positions)
  • Master’s degree exam registration and general information
  • On-leave status questions and forms
  • Transferring or applying previous coursework
  • Graduate student support advising 
Our Mission & Vision

Mission

The Office of Student Services supports prospective and current students to accomplish their academic and professional goals.  

Our commitment is to: 

  • Foster an inclusive educational community 
  • Promote learning within and beyond the classroom
  • Challenge personal, institutional, and systemic barriers
  • Build on the strengths of our students, communities, and programs

Vision

We will be a leader in advocating with and for students as they achieve their educational goals. Our graduates will create and promote justice and equity in communities and educational systems.

 

Directory

Name Position Email
Ayodeji, Ruth O. Experiential Learning Coordinator rutha2@uw.edu
Baires-Ramirez, Alejandra Lead Admissions & Outreach Adviser alebai@uw.edu
Calisto, Kate Associate Director of Academic Planning and Curriculum Management kcalisto@uw.edu
Campbell, Jenni Assistant Director of Academic & Student Services, Early Care & Education jcole2@uw.edu
Concepcion, Ramon Assistant Director for Undergraduate Academic and Student Services ramonct@uw.edu
Flaten, Brooke Director of Program Marketing bflaten@uw.edu
Haxton, Rosa Program Coordinator rhaxton@uw.edu
Howell, Martin T Assistant Dean for Academic & Student Affairs mthowell@uw.edu
Kelly, Elizabeth Recruitment and Support Specialist, Teacher Education ejk33@uw.edu
Khan, Waleed Academic Adviser khanm5@uw.edu
Koehler, Alec Lead Academic Adviser alecjk@uw.edu
Lemire, Camille Undergraduate Programs Manager clemire@uw.edu
Lo, Summer Student Services Manager summerlo@uw.edu
Love, Christian Associate Director for Graduate Academic & Student Services cklove@uw.edu
Mehta, Pragya Program Marketing Specialist pragym2@uw.edu
Mendoza Chui, Kayla Community Partner Liaison kmchui@uw.edu
Nielsen, Michael Assistant Director, Certification Management & Enrollment Support mnielsen@uw.edu
Scott, Keeyon Lead Academic Adviser keeyon@uw.edu
Sweeney, Gwen Teacher Candidate Retention and Support Specialist gwens@uw.edu
Visperas, Crystal Graduate Admissions, Enrollment, and Student Support Adviser cvisp@uw.edu
Wetterhahn, Paula Director of Admissions & Enrollment paulajw@uw.edu
Wittke, Bridget Program Coordinator